Office of the Commissioner for Workmen’s Compensation

The Workmen’s Compensation Ordinance No. 19 of 1934 was enacted to provide for the payment of compensation to workers for accidents caused in the course of employment. The principal enactment was amended on several occasions, the last of which was done by Act No.10 of 2005. The Workmen’s Compensation Court comprises 14 circuit courts covering the entire island with the powers of district judge and magisterial powers.


The prime objective of the Office is to cause compensation to be paid to workmen who sustain injuries in the course of employment, who suffer from diseases contracted due to the nature of the employment and to dependents of workmen who die due to accidents in workplaces.

Number of fatal and nonfatal accidents reported